Buyee came out cheaper on all 24 orders we priced, by ¥577 to ¥3,297.
- Item
- Service fee
- Payment / deposit fee
- Postage inside Japan
- International postage
- Import tax
The bars are one order: a ¥10,000 item from Mercari Japan, 1 kg packed, ¥700 postage inside Japan, EMS to France.
| # | Service | Pay the proxy | Pay on delivery | Total | Tax |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Buyee | ¥15,600 | ¥2,880 | ¥18,480 ≈ €104 |
On delivery |
| 2 | ZenMarket | ¥19,357 | ¥0 | ¥19,357 ≈ €108 |
Prepaid |
Local-currency figures are approximate, converted at the European Central Bank reference rate of 2026-10-01 (1 € = ¥178.5). Your card or the proxy will use its own rate on the day.
Totals include the proxy's service fee, packing, domestic shipping inside Japan, international postage, any deposit or payment fee, and import tax. Where a service collects tax up front it appears in the “pay the proxy” column instead of “pay on delivery”. The tax is the same either way.
Where the ¥877 actually goes
The whole difference comes from payment / deposit fee (ZenMarket pays ¥577 more) and service fee (ZenMarket pays ¥300 more). The largest of these is the payment / deposit fee. The import tax is the same ¥2,880 for both. One collects it at checkout and the other leaves it to the courier, which changes when you pay but not how much.
| Line | Buyee | ZenMarket | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Item | ¥10,000 | ¥10,000 | same |
| Service fee | ¥500 | ¥800 | +¥300 |
| Payment / deposit fee | ¥0 | ¥577 | +¥577 |
| Postage inside Japan | ¥700 | ¥700 | same |
| International postage | ¥4,400 | ¥4,400 | same |
| Import tax | ¥2,880 | ¥2,880 | same |
| Final total | ¥18,480 | ¥19,357 | +¥877 |
Does it hold for your order?
One example order proves little, so we priced the same pair on 24 orders: four parcel weights, three item prices, and one item against three separate items, all from Mercari Japan to France.
| ¥3,000 1 item | ¥3,000 3 items | ¥10,000 1 item | ¥10,000 3 items | ¥50,000 1 item | ¥50,000 3 items | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 500 g | ¥577 | ¥1,235 | ¥831 | ¥1,489 | ¥2,282 | ¥2,940 |
| 1 kg | ¥623 | ¥1,281 | ¥877 | ¥1,535 | ¥2,327 | ¥2,985 |
| 2 kg | ¥706 | ¥1,364 | ¥960 | ¥1,618 | ¥2,411 | ¥3,069 |
| 5 kg | ¥935 | ¥1,593 | ¥1,189 | ¥1,847 | ¥2,639 | ¥3,297 |
- Buyee cheaper
- ZenMarket cheaper
- Darker means a bigger gap. Each cell is the difference in the final total.
The gap moves most with the price of the item: going from ¥3,000 to ¥50,000 shifts it by about ¥1,705 towards Buyee. After that, going from one item to three shifts it by about ¥658 towards Buyee, and going from 500 g to 5 kg shifts it by about ¥358 towards Buyee. The lead never changes hands inside this table, so the headline holds for ordinary orders.
Depending on where you buy
Buyee is cheaper whichever of the 7 marketplaces you buy from. Buyee's total is the same whatever the marketplace, while ZenMarket's moves by up to ¥518 depending on where it buys. All rows are the same ¥10,000, 1 kg order.
| Buying from | Buyee | ZenMarket | Cheaper |
|---|---|---|---|
| Yahoo! Auctions | ¥18,480 | ¥19,357 | Buyee by ¥877 |
| Mercari Japan | ¥18,480 | ¥19,357 | Buyee by ¥877 |
| Rakuten Rakuma | ¥18,480 | ¥19,046 | Buyee by ¥566 |
| Amazon.co.jp | ¥18,480 | ¥19,046 | Buyee by ¥566 |
| Rakuten Ichiba | ¥18,480 | ¥19,046 | Buyee by ¥566 |
| ZenMarket recommended stores | ¥18,480 | ¥18,839 | Buyee by ¥359 |
| Other Japanese shops | ¥18,480 | ¥19,046 | Buyee by ¥566 |
What each will ship to France
They disagree on 3 categories: items with lithium batteries (Buyee: not stated, ZenMarket: with conditions); airsoft and model guns (Buyee: refused, ZenMarket: with conditions); and replica swords and knives (Buyee: refused, ZenMarket: not stated). If your item falls into one of those, that matters more than the price gap above. Both refuse model paint and thinner; spray cans and topcoat; lighters; perfume; and plants and seeds on this route. Japan Post itself restricts items with lithium batteries on parcels to France, so switching service does not get around it.
| If the parcel contains | Buyee | ZenMarket |
|---|---|---|
| Flammable liquid | Refused | Refused |
| Aerosol / pressurised can | Refused | Refused |
| Contains a lithium battery | Not stated | With conditions |
| Airsoft / model gun | Refused | With conditions |
| Lighter | Refused | Refused |
| Food or drink | Not stated | Not stated |
| Adult (R18) material | With conditions | With conditions |
| Blade / replica sword | Refused | Not stated |
| Perfume or fragrance | Refused | Refused |
| Skincare or make-up | Not stated | Not stated |
| Medicine (over the counter) | Not stated | Not stated |
| Plants or seeds | Refused | Refused |
Highlighted rows are where the two differ. "Not stated" means the company publishes no rule, so the decision is made at the warehouse after you have paid. Each company's own wording is quoted on the what you cannot ship page.
When you pay the import tax
Buyee does not collect it up front on EMS parcels to France, so it is paid to the courier when the parcel lands. ZenMarket collects VAT at 20% at checkout on orders up to EUR 150. The amount of import VAT is set by France, not by either company, so it is the same whichever you use. Where it is paid on arrival, the courier usually adds its own customs handling charge on top, which neither company publishes and which is not in the totals here.
| Order | Buyee | ZenMarket |
|---|---|---|
| ¥10,000 item | Paid on arrival | Collected at checkout |
| ¥150,000 item | Paid on arrival | On arrival, not estimated |
Storage, packing and payment terms
| Buyee | ZenMarket | |
|---|---|---|
| Service fee charged | per purchase at auctions and flea markets, per order at shops | per item |
| Packing and consolidation | included | included |
| Payment / deposit fee | none | 3.5% of the whole transaction |
| Storage at the warehouse | 30 days free, then from ¥100 a day by weight, disposed of after 90 days | 60 days free, then ¥50 per item per day, disposed of after 90 days |
ZenMarket holds purchases free for longer (60 days against 30). That window is what lets you collect several purchases over a few weeks and send them in one box, which usually saves more in postage than the difference in service fees.
What each includes for the money
Buyee: no extras bundled at this plan level (Light (no cover)). ZenMarket: no extras bundled at this plan level. A cheaper total with no inspection and no insurance is not the same product as a dearer one that includes both. On a second-hand auction item, where the seller's description is the only thing you have to go on, that difference is worth more than the gap above.